Elections bring new members to WAN-Ifra and WEF boards

Jun 29, 2021 at 12:14 pm by admin

WAN-Ifra has named ten new members to its supervisory board of directors and World Editors Forum board.

The global organisation also reported a positive balance for 2020 to the general assembly of members on June 23, with forecasts of a “better-than-expected” 2021, thanks to a growing number of new members.

The four elected to the supervisory board are Max Garrido (Corporacion Bermont, Spain) – who chairs WAN-Ifra’s World Printers Forum – Masahiro Maruyama (The Mainichi Newspapers Group Holdings Co. and President of NSK, the Japan Newspaper Publishers & Editors Association), Pål Nedregotten (Amedia in Norway and chairman of MBL, the Norwegian Media Business Association), and Victoria Svanberg (NWT Gruppen in Sweden).

The next elections for the supervisory board will take place at the World News Media Congress in Taipei in December.

Victoria Svanberg (pictured) also becomes chair of WAN-Ifra’s Media Freedom Board.

Six new members were elected to the World Editors Forum board on June 15. They are Phil Chetwynd (AFP, France), Liz Corbyn (European Broadcasting Union, Switzerland), Elske Schouten (NRC, Netherlands), Deirdre Veldon (The Irish Times, Ireland), Jean-Christophe Ploquin (La Croix, France) and Piotr Stasiński (Gazeta Wyborcza, Poland).

President Warren Fernandez (Singapore Press Holdings) has been re-elected for a two-year period.

Sections: Newsmedia industry


or Register to post a comment